Business Treaveler logo

Travel news, reviews and intel for high-flyers

ETIAS: Travelers Heading to Europe Will Require New Documents

Here's what you'll need to comply with the European Travel Information and Authorization System (ETIAS)

by Lark Gould

April 17, 2023

Illustration: Michał Bednarski

This year, the European Travel Information and Authorization System (ETIAS) is set to launch, requiring Americans, among many other nationalities, to apply, pay and then receive documented approval to cross into the Schengen Area countries. The new layer of travel planning marks a way for the countries in this region of the European Union to tighten security while collecting helpful revenues. The rollout is set for November.

Copenhagen in Denmark, one of the countries that will require ETIAS clearance for travelers / Photo: Courtesy of Nick Karvounis/Unsplash

Incorporating some 27 countries, the Schengen Area is the world’s largest visa-free zone. Citizens of the United Kingdom, no longer a part of the E.U., must also apply for ETIAS clearance. Other countries, not full members of the Schengen zone (Iceland, Norway, Switzerland and Liechtenstein, among them), are still opting to participate in the program and collect the tax.

Applications will be entirely electronic and require filling out a form on the E.U.’s official ETIAS page. This process should only take minutes and should send approvals and papers shortly after payment. Information needed includes the following:

  • Personal information, including place of birth, parents’ names, email addresses and phone number
  • Passport or travel document details
  • Education and occupation information
  • Intended travel destinations and stay locations
  • Any details about any criminal convictions, travels to war zones, and expulsions from countries

As November looms closer, travelers with plans to head to Europe will not need this document if they are less than 18 years old or older than 70. Once acquired, the approval status lasts for three years and allows an individual to enter the region for up to 90 days within 180 days without a full visa.

Which countries require ETIAS?

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland