Business Treaveler logo

Travel news, reviews and intel for high-flyers

How to Get Status Match for British Airways Executive Club

The airline is allowing North American travelers with elite status on other airlines to join its Executive Club through a status match challenge

by Lauren Smith

April 10, 2024

Photo: Courtesy of British Airways

British Airways is offering North American travelers with elite status on rival carriers the opportunity to temporarily join its Executive Club loyalty program at elevated tiers, a privilege passengers can extend by completing a challenge.

The tier match offer is open to travelers with addresses in the United States or Canada who already have high status with one of the eight following airlines:

All eight eligible airlines are members of the Star Alliance or SkyTeam, making this status match their loyal travellers’ easiest way to tap into juicy perks from British Airways and the rest of the oneworld alliance.

Photo: First Class, Airbus A380. Courtesy of British Airways / Nick Morrish

To apply, travelers must join the British Airways Executive Club for free and upload proof of their frequent flyer status with an eligible airline on the British Airways website by May 7, 2024.

BA will review applications within five days. If accepted, travelers will receive either Executive Club Silver or Gold status with British Airways, depending on their rank with the original airline.

AirlineExecutive Club SilverExecutive Club Gold
DeltaSkyMiles Gold MedallionSkyMiles Silver Medallion
Air CanadaAeroplan 50KAeroplan 75K and Super Elite
LufthansaSenator with Miles & MoreHON Circle with Miles & More
United AirlinesMileagePlus Premier GoldMileagePlus Premier Platinum, Premier 1K
Air FranceFlying Blue GoldFlying Blue Platinum
KLMFlying Blue GoldFlying Blue Platinum
SASEuroBonus GoldEuroBonus Gold
Virgin AtlanticFlying Club SilverFlying Club Gold

Their Executive Club Silver and Gold status will initially last for six months. They can extend it by completing a challenge: booking and taking two qualifying transatlantic flights within six months of receiving their British Airways status.

Those qualifying flights must:

  • Be British Airways-marketed flights in Club World Business or First Class
  • Be Operated by British Airways, American Airlines, Iberia, or Finnair
  • Originate from either Canada, Mexico or the United States
  • Be eligible for earning Tier Points or collecting Avios

Once the traveler takes both flights, British Airways will extend their elite status to the end of the next membership year.

If the traveler doesn’t complete the challenge, they’ll be downgraded to the Executive Club status (Blue, Bronze, Silver, or Gold) that matches the number of Tier Points they’ve earned.

British Airways elite status qualifies for:

  • Priority boarding (Silver)
  • First class check-in and boarding (Gold)
  • Free seat selection at booking (both)
  • Access to business lounges (Silver)
  • Access to First lounges (Gold)
  • Extra baggage allowance (both)

Additionally, British Airways Silver and Gold Status grant travelers oneworld Sapphire and Emerald ranks, with their own privileges on a dozen other airlines, including American Airlines, Cathay Pacific, Qantas, Qatar Airways, and others.

Photo: Courtesy of British Airways

In fact, oneworld status earned through British Airways can be even better than the same status earned through U.S. carriers.

Passengers with oneworld Sapphire status earned through American Airlines AAdvantage Program or Alaska Airlines Mileage Plan only receive access to American’s Admirals Clubs and Flagship Lounges when traveling internationally, while those with the same status earned through a foreign airline can get through the doors even on domestic itineraries.

Oneworld Sapphire status includes:

  • Lounge access
  • Business class priority check-in
  • Priority boarding
  • Priority baggage handling
  • Extra baggage allowance

Oneworld Emerald status includes:

  • Access to first and business class and lounges, including the Qantas First Lounge at Los Angeles International Airport (LAX)
  • First-class priority check-in
  • Access to Fast Track or Priority Lanes at certain airports

Don’t qualify for British Airways’ status match offer? Expect other airlines to launch status match incentives over the next few months after SAS’s defection from Star Alliance and move to SkyTeam.

Remaining Star Alliance carriers may open doors to SAS EuroBonus members who wish to remain with the pact, while competitors may try to poach them for a rival alliance.